(+34) 913 497 100


News | Mar 09 2016

Spanish Olive Oils Perform Spectacularly in the International Olive Council’s Quality Awards

The winning oils can announce this distinction on their labels with a special logo.


The results are in! The International Olive Council’s Mario Solinas Quality Award for 2016 has been announced as part of the first edition of the International Extra Virgin Olive Oil Competition.

A total of 130 oils were submitted from a range of countries, among them Greece, Italy, Tunisia, Morocco, Portugal and, of course, Spain. EVOOs from packers, producer associations and individual producers were all eligible to enter. Oils were classified according to the median intensity of their fruitiness: Green fruitiness (intense, medium and mild) and Ripe fruitiness, and the top six oils were chosen in each category by an international panel of judges.

Unsurprisingly, Spain performed very in the competition. In the Intense green fruitiness category, Spanish oils took first, second and third prize, and had three finalists. The winners were: Aceites Finca La Torre SLU, Bobadilla (Málaga); Castillo de Canena Olive Juice SL, Canena (Jaén); and SCA del Campo San Juan, Jaén. The finalists were Almazara de Muela SL, Priego de Córdoba oil (Córdoba)’ Casa de Hualdo, SL, Madrid; and Pedro A Melgarejo Cordero, Pegalajar (Jaén).

In the Medium green fruitiness category, Almazaras de la Subbética SCA, Carcabuey (Córdoba) took both second and third prize, and there were three Spanish finalists: Muela Olives, SL, Priego de Córdoba (Córdoba); SCA Olivarera la Purísima, Priego de Córdoba (Córdoba); and Manuel Montes Marīn, Priego de Córdoba (Córdoba).

In the Mild green fruitiness category, Spain took third prize: Finca la Gramanosa SL, Avinyonet del Penedès.

And in the Ripe fruitiness category, Spain took first, second and third prize and there were three Spanish finalists: Explotaciones Melcor SL, Pegalajar (Jaén); Oleosetin, Setin Rural SL, Marchagaz (Cáceres); Agrícola Roda, SCA de Oleostepa, La Roda de Andalucía (Seville); and Agrícola la Maja, SL, Mendavia (Navarra); SCA Ntra. Sra. De la Fuensanta de Oleostepa, Corcoya (Sevilla); and Pago de Peñarrubia, SL, Albacete.

The award ceremony will be held in Tokyo at the FABEX Trade Show, from April 13th to the 15th.


Of the 130 competing oils, 79 came from Spain, and in some cases Spanish oils won first, second and third prize.
Samara Kamenecka/©ICEX

This website uses cookies to deliver superior functionality and to enhance your experience. Continued use of this site indicates that you accept this policy.